Learning to Meditate

I find that so many people are afraid of the word, Meditation. “I can’t quiet my mind; I can’t sit with my legs crossed for hours on end. I just can’t do it, it’s not for me” I hear this over and over when I talk about meditation. I find that people are either willing to do it, or they’re not. It saddens me because there are tremendous benefits from meditation.
Yes, our brain is the biggest supper computer there is, we have thoughts and thoughts, visions, and visions over 60,000.00 a day. WOW…. Talk about megabytes. Meditation is taking a pause, a break from all the data input and output of the brain. To sit and simply breathe is the first step in meditation. You don’t need to go out and buy anything special. You don’t need any degree or special training to begin.
So what do you gain by spending time in meditation? You gain calm, peace of mind, a new since of awareness, you lower your stress level, calm your nerves, and you rejuvenate your body and your mind, yes…it’s like defragmenting your supper computer of all the junk it’s stored. You are spending time on your breathe and reconnecting it to your body, which in turn reconnects it to your spirit, which in turn reconnects you to the Universal being. LOVE…..you are giving your entire body love.
Simply start and give yourself no time limit, Find a place to sit, in a chair, against a wall, legs crossed, or touching the ground, whatever is most comfortable. If you want music, just make sure it has no words. You don’t want the choir in your brain to be activated and start singing or some distant love song to pop up a hidden romance. I do find it funny what type of thoughts tend to show up when I sit in meditation…..the key is to simply breathe and then sweep that thought away with the breath.
Sit, have your palms facing up and open to connect with the universe or facing down upon your thighs to connect deeper within yourself. Shoulders are always back, head of your shoulders slightly down, and your heart is always open. Breathe in slowly via the nose a few times, while releasing the breath via the nose. Keeping your eyes and mouth closed and you’re tongue resting down. Make the sound of the ocean as you breathe in-and-out, focus on this sound. And simply breathe, taking a deep breathe in, pausing, and exhale, pausing. Feel the rise and fall of your body, bringing all your attention and intentions on the breath, our life giving force our Prana. And as you sink into your breath and your body without realizing it your breathing will become quite. When thoughts come rushing in at you, just breathe them away. If you cry because something has been released, then let it go…… sometimes meditation brings up issues we have not been willing to let go of.
Don’t grade yourself, this is not a test, simply just sit, breathe, and be…. for however long you can be….
Meditation has helped me in my stress levels; it has taught me the art of patience’s, calmness, love, compassion.

My favorite meditation guide is DavidJi and I would recommend his book on “the secrets of meditation” to everyone who has ever been interested in learning to meditate. It’s an easy read that covers just about every form of meditation possible, and it’s written in an easy light format. A must Read. http://www.davidji.com/

Just like trying anything new, it takes practice, please find time in your day to carve out a space for meditation. When you rise in the morning, during your lunch break, when you arrive home from work, or before you go to bed, anything worth doing is worth doing.

Happy meditating and remember Peace in =’s Peace out

Acrylic on Canvas Meditation Sign

Acrylic on Canvas Meditation Sign

8 responses

  1. I totally agree with you! Meditation is good for the body as well as the soul! As I always say, “It’s all connected”. The funny thing is that meditation is in every spiritual belief, just under a different name. 🙂

    Thank you for reminding me the benefits of meditating and I will try to incorporate it more into my routine daily.

    Blessings to you, Deb! 🙂

    1. thanks for the visit and the reply 😉 I agree, it’s in every spiritual belief…. gosh, it’s been there all along 😉 we just needed to tune into it 🙂 have a happy

  2. Reblogged this on Truth . Love . Peace and commented:
    From the wonderfully talented artist, Deb Coats… a guide to meditation.

  3. Very Nice post. Meditation or any other, one should not view as problem.
    There is another saying also.
    That is ::: If there is no stillness, there is no silence.
    If there is no silence, there is no insight.
    If there is no insight, there is no clarity.

    1. I agree…. and I love stillness 🙂 have a wonderful day and thank you for the visit 🙂

  4. Agreed. I enjoy my daily meditation. I particularly enjoy guided meditations with Deepak Chopra. 🙂

    1. Love the Cohpra Center and Deepak, but my most favorite is Davidji, getting ready to start another 21 day meditation with the Chopra Center November 11th, Hope you are too. thanks for stopping by 🙂 Have a happy 🙂

      1. Yes. I am doing that 21 day meditation also. I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

My Human Experience

A life of alcoholism, depression and finding joy and peace through my spiritual journey

Be the love of life

How to live like a boss, holistically.

Pearls of Perception

There is so much more yet to be discovered, whether its a simple passage from a book, a quote, a poem a simple thought, photograph or landscape from a master.

Life as a Garden

Exploring how we can live our lives with purpose and joy.

Yoga Gangsters

Yoga Gangsters empowers youth by addressing the symptoms of trauma and poverty such as limited education, addiction, violence, incarceration, teen pregnancy, HIV, and more through the practice of yoga.

Blogging my way to 65kg

Food, exercise. Good days, bad days.

Ashtanga Yoga Italia

Classi di ASHTANGA YOGA a Milano con ROSA TAGLIAFIERRO

Your Spiritual Rockstar Moment

To Nurture and Support The Inner Awakenings of Rock Musicians Everywhere

