Faith and Loss

Tippie

Tippie


Do you believe in signs? I have always believed in signs and symbols. I believe that things happen or are placed in front of us at times when we need to be reminded of or cautioned on.

I have not been out walking in over a week. My young dog had surgery and is on strict house arrest to heal. My elder dog has not been able to walk in a long while, suffering from a weak heart and just too big to get around much. She’s been on heart medication since February and was given less than a year to live. She has been my best friend for the last nine years. A pet loves unconditionally, they listen without interrupting, they don’t care what you look like, they don’t care how much money you have. They don’t give you negative opinions, comments, or question anything you do. They simply LOVE you. So after the hardest decision my husband and I have ever had to make, we decided that it was just too painful for her to be on earth any longer and made the choice to let her go. Is time ever right for this? I sit and question myself over and over. Did I do the right thing? Should I have waited longer? As I sat with her in the Vet’s office and looked into the trusted eyes of my beloved dog, my heart was breaking. But I knew deep down inside that she was going to a better place, a peaceful place where her heart would not have to beat so hard. I begged her to forgive me and I let her know how much I loved her and that we would be together again someday, I kissed her and said goodbye as her heart beat its last beat on earth.
I have always had a strong faith in God and the spirit, I believe without question in a higher power and have always given my worries and praise to God but today as I went out for a walk my heart was heavy. I was in that place where I just didn’t quite know what to do, so I trudged up the hill and as sometimes someone does, they leave messages written in chalk on the paved path that say, “Believe in God, Jesus lives, and God will save you”. As I walked and read the messages, I begin to cry; the grief of losing my friend seamed to wash over me. “I know God”, I would say, “I know, you are with me, I know you are here” I walked and let the tears come, but then I came upon my name written in chalk, as if this message was just for me….. Out of all the names that one could write, it was my name… Debra. “God is with you Debra”. Well, needless to say, I cried like a baby at that point. Is this a sign from God to me? Yes, I believe it is. Some act of Spirit worked through the person that had written the messages, and if that message was written for some other Debra in this area, one will never know. But, I believe it was also written for me. So, open yourself up to believing in signs and messages that are left. Perhaps even leave one for someone else to stumble across; you never know who you might end up helping. Leave the outcome up to the Universe.

6 responses

  1. Deb,
    As I read through your post with tears streaming down my face I also had to smile. I am going to participate in the blog challenge about dogs in august and I was looking all through Shutterfly for a picture of my beloved dog that has been gone since 2006. I never found it, but when I opened this post, it’s like there he was. Your Tippie looked so much like my Fred. Thank you for sharing this just when I needed it.

    1. Hugs to you too with the loss of your dear friend. Tippie was a rescue puppy, I got her when she was 6 weeks old. All of her siblings died of parvo. She had a loved life. Thank you for taking the time to comment today and for sending me your support during this time. It’s been hard… but I know it will get better. Have a wonderful day and I look forward to reading your stories.

  2. I am so sorry for your loss Deb. I have been there more often than I care to remember, losing 3 best friends in what felt like a very short space of time. But the memories will stay with you forever and the gift of friendship that Tippie gave you, is priceless. My heart goes out to you at this time. Sending much love and peace your way dear friend. xxoo

    1. thanks friend, I know you are there… love you back.

  3. What a lovely post with such a positive message. I can’t begin to imagine how hard it must have been for you to say goodbye to your friend. Our girl is 8 and in good health, but I dread the day when we have to make that same decision.
    I don’t know what I believe when it comes to signs, but I know your story just made me smile 🙂

    1. thank you for stopping by. I wish you many more years with your dear girl…. I am glad I made you 🙂 have a happy day!

Leave a Reply

My Human Experience

A life of alcoholism, depression and finding joy and peace through my spiritual journey

Be the love of life

How to live like a boss, holistically.

Pearls of Perception

There is so much more yet to be discovered, whether its a simple passage from a book, a quote, a poem a simple thought, photograph or landscape from a master.

Life as a Garden

Exploring how we can live our lives with purpose and joy.

Yoga Gangsters

Yoga Gangsters empowers youth by addressing the symptoms of trauma and poverty such as limited education, addiction, violence, incarceration, teen pregnancy, HIV, and more through the practice of yoga.

Blogging my way to 65kg

Food, exercise. Good days, bad days.

Ashtanga Yoga Italia

Classi di ASHTANGA YOGA a Milano con ROSA TAGLIAFIERRO

Your Spiritual Rockstar Moment

To Nurture and Support The Inner Awakenings of Rock Musicians Everywhere

